Would someone please enlighten me? I've started playing the computer version of LoS, and I'm baffled at how suppression is handled. Have I been playing the tabletop wrong all this time?
If there are already figures in your suppression corridor when you declare suppression, you must fire at each one of them, beginning with the closest. Let's assume there are still a few figures within the corridor after that. It is now your opponent's turn.
What happens if your opponent moves a new figure within your suppression corridor?
The computer game gives you a shot at each figure still within the suppression area. The way I've always played is that you only get to suppress the newcomer, taking all LoF modifiers into account (for example -1 per figure you must shoot past).
I checked the rules (black box 2nd printing and Rules of Engagement), and I am unsure how to understand them:
"When a figures suppresses an area which already contains targets, it must fire at all of these immediately as if they had just entered the square". English not being my native langage, I have trouble understanding the nuance here.
"When a figure suppresses an area" = everytime the figure takes a shot while in suppression mode, or
"When a figure suppresses an area" = when the figure is put into suppression mode ??
Thanks a lot in advance for any insight.
On a related note, suppression is disturbingly powerful in the digital version of the game - you get to take a suppression shot everytime a unit performs ANY KIND of action within your suppression corridor (be it moving, turning or firing), which is (this time without a doubt) a discrepancy with the tabletop rules (where you only get to shoot when a figure moves onto a suppressed square). Factor in the ability to fire at each figure in the suppression corridor each time and you almost have a gamebreaker.