News: We have a Wiki! Thanks to bobloblah who has made some good progress... but all members can contribute content!

Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
Rules Discussion / A question about suppression in LoS
« Last post by taurus on September 19, 2017, 12:11:31 PM »
Hi all,
Would someone please enlighten me? I've started playing the computer version of LoS, and I'm baffled at how suppression is handled. Have I been playing the tabletop wrong all this time?

If there are already figures in your suppression corridor when you declare suppression, you must fire at each one of them, beginning with the closest. Let's assume there are still a few figures within the corridor after that. It is now your opponent's turn.

What happens if your opponent moves a new figure within your suppression corridor?
The computer game gives you a shot at each figure still within the suppression area. The way I've always played is that you only get to suppress the newcomer, taking all LoF modifiers into account (for example -1 per figure you must shoot past).

I checked the rules (black box 2nd printing and Rules of Engagement), and I am unsure how to understand them:
"When a figures suppresses an area which already contains targets, it must fire at all of these immediately as if they had just entered the square". English not being my native langage, I have trouble understanding the nuance here.
"When a figure suppresses an area" = everytime the figure takes a shot while in suppression mode, or
"When a figure suppresses an area" = when the figure is put into suppression mode ??

Thanks a lot in advance for any insight.


On a related note, suppression is disturbingly powerful in the digital version of the game - you get to take a suppression shot everytime a unit performs ANY KIND of action within your suppression corridor (be it moving, turning or firing), which is (this time without a doubt) a discrepancy with the tabletop rules (where you only get to shoot when a figure moves onto a suppressed square). Factor in the ability to fire at each figure in the suppression corridor each time and you almost have a gamebreaker.
2
General Discussion / Re: Scored a Mark III
« Last post by Scoutzout on June 20, 2017, 01:21:39 AM »
Well that makes 2 of us!
3
General Discussion / Re: Scored a Mark III
« Last post by Kindred on June 06, 2017, 06:24:38 AM »
:D I care!   That's cool...   I just found a cache of Black Empire models - still in their boxes - in my workroom
4
General Discussion / Scored a Mark III
« Last post by Scoutzout on June 01, 2017, 09:19:54 PM »
Fiend the other day...no one cares.
5
Boards and Terrain / Re: Bug Hunt Corridor by Fantasy Arc
« Last post by Kindred on November 07, 2016, 09:05:20 PM »
I wanted to participate in that kickstarter, but, at the time, didn't have the free cash to drop on that.
6
Boards and Terrain / Re: Bug Hunt Corridor by Fantasy Arc
« Last post by Warchariot on November 06, 2016, 07:21:30 PM »
More a less, some of the grid is about one inches while others are bigger.
7
Boards and Terrain / Re: Bug Hunt Corridor by Fantasy Arc
« Last post by Kindred on November 01, 2016, 07:56:38 AM »
nice bit of scenery there...   I assume that you used measurements instead of counting "squares"?
8
Rules Discussion / Re: Tiles/Movement Question.
« Last post by Brother Jim on October 02, 2016, 11:38:53 AM »
Thanks!!
That's kind of what we thought.
9
Rules Discussion / Re: Tiles/Movement Question.
« Last post by Warchariot on October 02, 2016, 10:45:47 AM »
The rules for half squares are found in the scenario book (Black Box) on pages 4-5. They state that figures may not set up on half squares (p.4). On page 5 it goes on to say:

"Half squares are only useable by a figure which is entering the board. A figure must pay movement point(s) when entering the board on to a half square. If the player is exiting the board with a figure no movement point(s) are spent to move off of a half square, the figure is considered off the board when it moves on to it."

So half squares are unplayable except to move onto the board. In most set-ups (all?), the half squares are at entrance points/rooms. We treat the entrance rooms as if these other half squares (see Quarterback Sneak room at top of set-up) are walls because page 5 goes on to say:

"Figures can not move off the board unless exiting the board through an appropriate exit point as defined in the scenario. A figure moving off the board through an exit point cannot return at a later time."

So since you cannot use a half square except to move onto the board and cannot exit except at defined points, in which half squares do not count for movement, half squares in rooms are unplayable.
   
10
Rules Discussion / Tiles/Movement Question.
« Last post by Brother Jim on September 30, 2016, 01:15:31 PM »
Zephyr1 asked this on TMP and I can't find it in any of the rules available on this site and I haven't gotten around to digging out by Blue Box Rulebook.

(Not having a copy of the rules for this gameā€¦)
I've noticed that the edges of the tiles are half spaces. Not a problem when two halves are placed together (which make one space.) Do the rules explain what happens with a half space up against a solid wall section? (Like for movement and shooting.) I'm assuming the half space is treated as a full space (though it might get crowded actually trying to place a miniature on it. ;-)
Thanks for any info!

Thanks!
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10