I played the 'Among The Ruins' scenario from Scenario Pack
1 yesterday with Germanicus as the Machine against a UNE force. I had a G1C NIghtmare
as part of the Command Unit
within my selected forces. Haven't used the old 'bowling ball of death' in a while... re-reading the rules proved kinda vague for a particular scenario we encountered.
From page 25 of the Advanced rules;
'When fired, a Nega Sphere counter is placed in front of the firing figure. During the end segment, it moves. Roll 2 dice to determine how many squares it moves. If a 9 to 12 is rolled then the sphere dissipates at the end of its move. Any figure struck by the sphere receives a kill on a 3+ [only general modifiers apply]. If the sphere encounters a solid object such as a door, forcewall or wall, it will make a 90 degree turn and continue along an unobstructed path. If the squares to the left and right are both open, the sphere will move randomly [roll one die and on a 1-3 the sphere turns left, 4-6 it turns right]. '
Pretty straightforward rules to this point, but here's where the vague comes in...
'If a dead end is encountered, the sphere will impact with a random square [roll one die and on a 1-2 the left square, 3-4 the square directly ahead and 5-6 the right square]. Impact with a wall disperses a Nega-sphere. If a forcewall or door is not destroyed, the sphere disperses and is removed.'
I'm not sure how to interpret the conflict that arrises when mention of destroying a door or forcewall comes in. Can the nega-sphere thus make a hit roll on a door or forcewall if it encounters it AFTER it has changed direction once already? Would it then continue to move forward with any remaining movement points if it made a successful hit roll?
This seems to contradict the first portion of the rules where it states that it will deflect the first time it hits either of these objects. I would think it should be either one way or the other - doors & forcewalls either deflect the sphere or a hit roll can be made on them at any time they are encountered.
I can't recall exactly what sergeant_hastp & I used to do back in the day, but in yesterdays game a couple of situations came up when I fired the N-S Generator. Have a look at this image from our game;
You can see the red/pink sphere chit in the large copper-walled room, fired from down the hall. The other red chits in that room are EW chits, I used them to represent the low level obstacles that did NOT have any rubble in any surrounding squares for the scenario.
The first situation we debated was if the sphere could pass over the red 'obstacle' chit. There aren't any rules specific to this situation that I could find in a pinch. Being a low level obstacle, we agreed it would be ok to let the sphere pass over it on a die roll of 2-6, to represent the off-chance that the obstacle could have potentially deflected it.
The second situation occurs on the next turn when the sphere encounters the closed door. We decided to go with the first part of the rule and rolled a d6 to see which way it would deflect. It ended up going right and fizzling in the corner.
BUT, we were considering how to work out a rule to allow it to potentially destroy the door in its path. It seems to make sense to allow it a hit roll in this situation... though we were thinking of 2 ways to handle it;
1] Use the same off-chance roll as with the low level obstacle [d6 roll, 2-6 means the sphere isn't deflected by the door]
2] if a door is encountered in this situation, roll the d6 for deflection. On a 1-2, the sphere goes left, 3-4 it moves forward into the door, and on a 5-6 it goes right. If the sphere rolls into the door, make a hit roll and if it doesn't destroy the door it disperses.